The Complete Guide to Using Outlook 2010 with Palm Hotsync


EDIT: New blog post with latest updates: https://pizzaboy192.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/the-complete-guide-to-syncing-outlook-2010-and-2013-with-palm-hotsync/

Update: I’ve released an automagical installer:

Visit http://pizzaboy192.com/downloads/ to get it.

Link to Forum Thread

Click Here and cure your woes

Install the 2007 Conduit Update before you do the following (If you have upgraded to office 2010 from office 2007, re-install the conduit so it can be registered in Outlook)

Then:

Place the two files over the ones in C:\Program Files\Palm\ and you’ll be good to go.

If this helped you, let me know!

X64 Outlook WILL NOT WORK.

This is due to how a x64 OS handles programs compared to an x86 (32 bit) OS does

THERE IS NO FIX, JUST INSTALL x86 Office instead, sorry.

-pizzaboy192

— Development has halted due to no fix for x64 Outlook.

I may roll an installer at some point, but don’t count on it.

I may also just dump the patched files to a real web-storage place instead of my site.

Enjoy your palming.

About Author
Someone who feels the need to help others using the information that I have discovered. If someone else finds it useful, I'm more than happy to have helped.

40 Responses to The Complete Guide to Using Outlook 2010 with Palm Hotsync

  1. David Berger says:

    Hi. The Link is dead. Can I trouble you to get it to work? I really need these files.
    Thanx

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      New link:
      http://pizzaboy192.com/downloads
      Sorry for the delay

      • David Berger says:

        Thanx for getting back to me but the new link is a 404 error

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        Really sorry about that, Having issues with the new hosting.
        The link should be somewhat fixed, should atleast take you to a place where you can download it now.
        (The link in my previous comment)

      • arrie says:

        YOU, Sir, are an absolute Godsend !!!!!! I woe you an extra large, all toppings pizza !!!!
        Searched for weeks for a method to synch Outlook 2010 with a Palm Tungsten. Your files solved the problem when none of the other synch programs on the market worked.

        Can’t thank you enough. You saved over 1,000 contacts for me.

        THANK YOU !!!!!!

  2. Barrie says:

    Again – Thank you for the fix – Works GREAT!

  3. Chuck Duncan says:

    Thank you very much! It is working well so far with my Palm TX

  4. Sue says:

    Thank you!!!!

  5. Tony says:

    Wonderful!!
    Thanks pizzaboy192

  6. Paul says:

    It works! It was quick and easy to install and works with my Treo 755p. Thank you so much.

  7. James Bennet says:

    Calendar, Tasks, Addresses work with my Palm IIIx great, but not my email and memos/notes (the written ones)

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I can test the conduit patches with my IIIc and my M505 to see what needs to be done. Unfortunately, I have those at my house and not at my dorm.
      Is there any error in the HS log?

  8. James Bennet says:

    No, it says it succeeds, but they just arent there.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I’ll look into it in a week or so when I get my hands on my Palm collection. I don’t really know what could be causing the emails not to sync out unless the Palm just isn’t taking them.

  9. Julio says:

    Funny. I can sync in administrator mode, but when I switch to an user account (I have to use one to access my corporate Exchange server) it fails to synchronize. The conduits for Outlook do not even appear in the Hotsync options. Aside that, thanks Pizzaboy for the great job.

  10. G says:

    Got a T5 in your Palm collection? Since humans live on biological time, technology’s logarithmic progress can be costly and counterproductive. Upgraded to Outlook 2010 and my Palm is toast. Does your patch/app work for a Tungsten T5 or is it time to exchange a piece of hardware that works just fine for a new device that (logarithmic progress being what it is) will need replacement even sooner. [Old fart rant: paper document from 1612 is just as functional as it was 400 years ago – way back on the logarithmic ladder.]

    Anyway, thanks for your work on this project. Lots of Palmers appreciate it. Pizza for you if this works – go a favorite pizza place?

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Not only does it work just fine with the T5, but also the t2, a m500, a IIIc, and a handspring visor.It should work with any and every palm that uses Hotsync. Even though technology progresses, there is no need to stop using what works well. Palm may have stopped making Palms a long time ago, but they didn’t make them stop working. I still use my Tx and t2 regularly. My IIIc still works fine, and my m500 serves as a universal remote and info center for our media PC at home. All that aside, it should work well to keep using your T5. It is probably more stable than my friend’s ipod is. Palm made good devices. No need to stop their service because of a minor inconvenience like Palm folding up.

  11. Rosa says:

    I have a Palm Centro and am having issues syncing to Outlook 2010 (32bit) with Windows 7 (64bit). I have Palm Desktop installed and the HotSync Manager version is 7.0.2. Although HotSync says it was completed successfully, none of my calendar items synced. I did install your patch and the 2007 Conduit Update. But I don’t know what to do next. You said ”
    Place the two files over the ones in C:\Program Files\Palm\ and you’ll be good to go.” What 2 files are you talking about? I can’t even find where the 2007 Conduit Updates went.

    I then tried to watch your youtube video but couldn’t see the full screen to know what programs you are accessing and I didn’t hear any sound explaning what you are doing.

    Help!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      If you run the installer, then you don’t need to place any files anywhere. The installer does that automatically.
      I did not have any voiceover with my video (I may fix that some day). I am not sure what could be causing your calender sync issues, but you might be able to fix a fix over on the Palm Support Forum instead. Does everything else sync fine? it could be something related to Hotsync instead of my Patch.

  12. Oliver T. says:

    Hi Pizzaboy
    Have a Palm T|X & have just moved from XP & Outlook 2003 to W7 enterprise & Outlook 2010 had not even realised Palm had folded! Only realised I had a problem when I reinstalled & it would not work. Have read threads & forums on the issue. Have latest versions of Palm Desktop and Hot Sync installed. Have installed the Office 2007 conduit patches. Have then installed your fix (I dont have access rights to hex edit, only install). Lastly I reconfigured Hotsync settings as you have advised on some web forums. It tries to sync calendar and indeed does copy some activities over from the desktop, but then stops responding mid calendar sync. Is this likely to be an access rights issue? This is a work PC, so I dont have admin rights – only elevated install rights (using privilige guard). Thus I cant do this:
    “Find ocpConduitUI.dll and right click then select properties. on the general tab uncheck the read only box and hit apply. On the security tab click edit then select Users from the upper box in the lower box “permissions for Users” check “Allow” box next to Full Control. Hit Apply then OK. Repeat for the ocpNotifer.dll.” Could this be the issue? If so I can log a job with our I.T. team to come and login as admin and do this for me. I am being offered a 3G iPAD as an alternative – yeah really pocket friendly!

  13. M. Lee says:

    Just wanted to let you that I was also able to hotsync my MS office 2010 32 bit outlook calendar, contacts, etc with my Palm Z22 with your helpful information. Thank you so much!

  14. MWard says:

    Thanks much! My E2 now has a new lease on life.

  15. Jennifer says:

    I tried to follow all the instructions, but I’m still getting error messages. Here’s the text from the HotSync log:
    HotSync session completed with errors on 02/25/13 12:45:24

    HotSync session started on 02/25/13 12:42:47, and completed in 157.0 seconds

    Outlook Calendar synchronization aborted

    Duration: 30.2 seconds

    Outlook Calendar

    OLERR:0B-0004

    Unable to initialize Outlook. To fix this problem, in Outlook open the Help menu and choose Detect and Repair.

    OLERR:0C-000F (0x0)

    OLERR:0D-0003

    OLERR:0D-0001

    – Not Synchronized

    OLERR:15-0002

    OLERR:06-0001

    Outlook Contacts synchronization aborted

    Duration: 30.2 seconds

    Outlook Contacts

    OLERR:0B-0004

    Unable to initialize Outlook. To fix this problem, in Outlook open the Help menu and choose Detect and Repair.

    OLERR:0C-0002 (0x0)

    OLERR:0C-000F (0x80040601)

    OLERR:0D-0003

    OLERR:0D-0001

    – Not Synchronized

    OLERR:15-0002

    OLERR:01-0001

    Outlook Tasks synchronization aborted

    Duration: 30.2 seconds

    Outlook Tasks

    OLERR:0B-0004

    Unable to initialize Outlook. To fix this problem, in Outlook open the Help menu and choose Detect and Repair.

    OLERR:0C-0002 (0x0)

    OLERR:0C-000F (0x80040601)

    OLERR:0D-0003

    OLERR:0D-0001

    – Not Synchronized

    OLERR:15-0002

    OLERR:0F-0001

    Outlook Notes synchronization aborted

    Duration: 30.2 seconds

    Outlook Notes

    OLERR:0B-0004

    Unable to initialize Outlook. To fix this problem, in Outlook open the Help menu and choose Detect and Repair.

    OLERR:0C-0002 (0x0)

    OLERR:0C-000F (0x80040601)

    OLERR:0D-0003

    OLERR:0D-0001

    – Not Synchronized

    OLERR:15-0002

    OLERR:08-0001

    Media synchronized successfully

    Duration: 0.7 seconds

    Backed up some files successfully to Jennifer’s Backup folder

    Duration: 2.7 seconds

    Backed up 2 file(s) successfully

    midataidcache

    Saved Preferences

    Failed to backup 1 file(s)

    PmTraceDatabase

    Protocol Error: Handheld file could not be opened. (4004)

    SYNCERR_FILE_NOT_OPEN

    Any ideas? I’m using a Palm TX, HotSync Manager 7.0.2, Palm Desktop by ACCESS Version 6.2.2, Windows 7 32-bit, Outlook 2010.

  16. Jennifer says:

    Should have added to my post above that I did run the Microsoft Office repair, but still got the same error message afterwards. Thanks!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Hi,
      Can you send me a screenshot of the conduit’s settings?
      You can get to this settings page by opening Hotsync Manager, clicking on “Applications” on the left panel, and then double clicking on the listed applications.

      • Jennifer says:

        Thanks so much for responding! I wa worried this thread wasn’t active anymore! I sync with work computer & at home now, so will do in the morning, but I do know that I had calendar, address, tasks, memos–the normal ones–whatever correct names–set to desktop overrides handheld as I haven’t been able to sync in a while & desktop has the most up to date info.

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        I’ll try to help out as quick as I can when you get some information. Feel free to email me too if you find that easier than commenting on my blog.

      • William & Jennifer Lennemann says:

        Good morning! I’ve attached a Word document with the screen shots. Jennifer Date: Mon, 25 Feb 2013 20:10:29 +0000 To:

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        HI, WordPress doesn’t support attachments. If you want to send me the file, you can email it to pizzaboy192 gmail com

      • Solo says:

        I am having the exact same problem. If you were able to find a fix, could you please post it. Thank you so much.

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        Hi, Can you check to see if you have any Chapura products installed on your computer? I’m getting reports that they’re causing conflicts with my patch.

  17. Lin Dia says:

    I am wondering if your fix works with Palm Centro, Outlook 2010 and Windows 7 64 bit? Thank you.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      As long as your copy of Outlook is 32 bit, you’ll be able to install the patch and have it work.

  18. Timor says:

    HI, will this program also help me to sync a pam pre with outlook 2010?

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Sadly, no. This program only works with devices running PalmOS, not WebOS.

  19. ApolloLV says:

    You, Sir, are the best Good Guy Greg I have ever encountered!

  20. armyofnine says:

    Thank you! I downloaded your Outlook 2010 files and was able to figure out what to do with them by reading your do-it-yourself instructions. Now iPod, Outlook, and Palm TX are all synced. (I decided to go back to my Palm after 2+ years using iPod. Palm just works better!)

  21. User1 says:

    Downloadlink is not working anymore. Would be really wonderfull if you could repair the download! Thx!!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Fixed!

  22. ken says:

    what/where are the outlook 2007 Conduit

Leave a Reply

