How To: Remove Arcsoft PowerMobia from your LG Fathom (video)



Another Video. This one’s pretty self explanatory.

About Author
Someone who feels the need to help others using the information that I have discovered. If someone else finds it useful, I'm more than happy to have helped.

35 Responses to How To: Remove Arcsoft PowerMobia from your LG Fathom (video)

  1. windows789 says:

    Where did you get that emulator?

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      It’s not an emulator, but a Windows Mobile Display Mirroring application called ‘MyMobiler’. It allows you to show your phone’s display on your computer screen.

  2. otherush says:

    Thanks for the patch. The phone now appears to work as it should with threaded messaging. What was LG thinking disabling the default functionality?

  3. Pavel says:

    I’m getting the “installation was unsuccessful the program or setting cannot be installed because it does not have sufficient system permissions” and yeah i went to kill transport.exe but it was not there when i clicked arkswitch. My phone is unlocked verizon but with t mobile network, am i suppose to use the 5.99 cab or the 3.99 too?

  4. Pavel says:

    I figured it out! thanks for everything man, because of you i enjoy this phone more than ever.

  5. Pavel says:

    Hey, I wanted to know how did you get that interface on the fathom, I’m pretty bummed out the phone is really basic interms of home screen and what not.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      The interface is from the V7 ROM that LG put out. it’s one of the fun things that came with the phone along with all of the bad. I can see if I can strip it out and make an installer. Otherwise, just upgrade to V7 from LG and you’ll be fine.

  6. windows789 says:

    Also, can I ask why the Arcsoft program is bad? I’m not on either side right now, but what are the cons? I seem stupid posting this since everyone else knows why it sucks -_-

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      It’s a poor excuse for a messaging application with little allowing for customization, and no ability to use it with a GSM carrier.
      Plus, there’s plenty of people who dislike the color scheme, along with the instability of it.
      I dislike it because I like using Windows Mobile messaging skins, and it was one thing I missed from my older Mobile phones.
      Most people dislike it because it just doesn’t work well and is quite slow when you’ve got tons of messages on it. Besides that, it’s not too bad. It’s just clumsy.

      • windows789 says:

        You can skin the Messaging app? Can you tell me how or post a link? Thanks. I always wanted to skin the client…

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1302747
        Try there first. Some good skins there, and plenty more on XDA.
        Make sure that the skin is for 6.5.x and not 6.5 or 6.1

  7. Pavel says:

    I remember your post about V7 being all glitchy, If you can make it so i can just install v7 interface while still keeping V5 i’ll be damn grateful. I come on this site to see whats new, guess you can say I’m a fan! a donation is in order, haha.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I’ll be looking into it. I haven’t got much to go on right now, but I’ll be seeing what I can find in the next week or so and get back to you. I have a feeling it’s something extremely simple that I haven’t thought of yet.

  8. Hi, can you upload the update of Lg Fathom v7? All the links for download are dead! Thank you so much!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I can see what I can do.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Here’s a link for you:
      http://www.sendspace.com/file/8oqk6v

  9. Pavel says:

    You said that the interface was from v7 correct? well are you using your own V6 rom? and if anything, how stable is it?

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I do use my V6 rom. I’ve forked a set of builds from what I release and bake in plenty of my own stuff, most of it pre-registered items and whatnot to make restoring my phone easier. (Also make it difficult for someone to steal my phone, since I’ve got my user info baked in)
      It’s pretty stable at the moment. There’s always a bug or two, but I’m still sorting them out. I found a few tricks, and even a few tweaks that got GPS locking in under 20 seconds now. I’ll be releasing those later this month hopefully.
      I’d suggest installing a custom ROM only if you’re wanting features removed or added and want to keep as much storage space as possible on the phone. If you want Manilla (Touch Flo 3D) or some other launcher installed, it’s best to bake it in.

  10. Pavel says:

    I just really like the interface of v7, i tried to install it, i keep getting an extraction of cab error, and that fatal error whenever i tried to flash. But hey, if the statistic say to stay on v5, then i might as well stick to it. I’ll be looking forward to your custom roms man.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      The .cab file I linked to is a complete ROM file from LG. You need to do the official ROM flash method. Sadly, my tutorial I linked to is dead, so I will need to create a new tutorial.If you want to, try looking up the link on my “just flashed from v7 to v5” and search it on archive.org. You might be able to find how to do a whole v7 upgrade.

      • Pavel says:

        Yeah i found the guide on how to do it, just on the LG update tool it’d say it encountered a fatal error and cannot continue the update, and in the log under it will have a line that’d say “cannot extract cab” I’ll post a log and show you in a few.

  11. Pavel says:

    Here’s the log:
    18:52:31 : [C:\LGMobileUpgrade] µð·ºÅ丮 »èÁ¦ ½Ãµµ
    18:52:31 : RemoveDirectory1 Error(2):C:\LGMobileUpgrade
    18:52:31 : Start Date : 2012-02-20 18:52:31
    18:52:31 : ——– Buyer Test mode ———
    18:52:31 : [C:\ProgramData\LGMOBILEAX\Phone] µð·ºÅ丮 »èÁ¦ ½Ãµµ
    18:52:31 : RemoveDirectory1 Error(2):C:\ProgramData\LGMOBILEAX\Phone
    18:52:31 : *****CheckOS Start********
    18:52:31 : Microsoft_Windows_XP_Professional_
    18:52:31 : *****CheckPCSyncPrograms Start*****
    18:52:31 : PCSyncPrograms Not Found
    18:52:31 : SetEmerModeAT()
    18:52:31 : _IsConnectedPhone Call
    18:52:39 : _IsConnectedPhone(2)
    18:52:39 : 0 – NotConnected.
    18:52:39 : 1 – Normal connect success
    18:52:39 : 2 – Emergency connect success
    18:52:42 : Checking the connection with the cell phone…
    18:52:42 : dwWaitResetTime(40000 ms)
    18:52:43 : Phone Mode(2)
    18:52:43 : *****GetPhoneType Start*****
    18:52:46 : Phone Type : CDMA
    18:52:46 : *****Start GetPreviousStep*****
    18:52:46 : _GetPreviousStep(dwStep:0xffff)
    18:52:46 : *****GetPhoneBinaryVersion Start*****
    18:52:46 : Phone Bin Version : VS750ZV4_00
    18:52:46 : *****Get ESN / IMEI / MEID Start*****
    18:52:58 : *****GetPhoneNumber Start*****
    18:53:01 : Phone Number : 00000000000
    18:53:01 : ÀÎÁõ °Ë»ç ÆĶó¸ÞŸ – ESN_IMEI : 00000000000, Model :
    18:53:04 : _GetAuthMark : wAuthMark(8379)
    18:53:04 : Wait 3Sec
    18:53:09 : _SetAuthMark Ok : wAuthMark(8379), PhoneMode(2)
    18:53:09 : *****CheckPCSyncPrograms Start*****
    18:53:10 : PCSyncPrograms Not Found
    18:53:11 : CLGMobileHttp Class ¼Ò¸ê½ÃÀÛ.
    18:53:11 : CLGMobileHttp Class ¼Ò¸ê…
    18:53:11 : ****************CheckAndDownload********************
    18:53:11 : ******Extract Start C:\VS750\VS70Zv7_04.CAB*****
    18:53:11 : Model Dll Dir(C:\ProgramData\LGMOBILEAX\Phone\)
    18:53:11 : ExtractInfo Error(0)
    18:53:11 : Extract cab file error.
    18:53:11 : [C:\ProgramData\LGMOBILEAX\Phone] µð·ºÅ丮 »èÁ¦ ½Ãµµ
    18:53:11 : RemoveDirectory1 Error(2):C:\ProgramData\LGMOBILEAX\Phone
    18:53:11 : !pUpgrade->StartProcessing … PostMsg STEP_TYPE_ENV_ERROR
    18:53:11 : CLGMobileHttp Class ¼Ò¸ê½ÃÀÛ.
    18:53:11 : CLGMobileHttp Class ¼Ò¸ê…
    18:53:11 : Page_Error ºÎºÐÀÔ´Ï´Ù
    18:53:11 : OnStepMsg STEP_TYPE_ENV_ERROR delete m_pLGCyonUpdate

    Sorry for the incredibly long post

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      What programs did you install before running the updater? I forget which ones need to be run, but I know that you need to have a few installed first.

      • Pavel says:

        The KP500, where you press “J” input directory, etc. the LG update tool, and the VZ acess.

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        Okay. I’ll do some research into why it’s throwing that error.
        According to the log, it seems like you’ve got the .cab file at C:\VS750? Just out of curiosity, does it flash the V5 ROM that’s included in my flash pack? It could be that the V7 ROM is bad. I”ll check myself (I didn’t upload it, I had someone on PPCGeeks upload it for me since I do not have a copy myself) and see what happens though.

      • Pavel says:

        Yeah in the old guide i read you’re suppose to make a folder at C:\ and call it VS750, then put all the necessary files in it. the files i had was from another previous guide, some website called pix something. The cab file comes from the one you supplied in this post when that other person asked for it.

      • pizzaboy192 says:

        I shall look into it. I haven’t had much free time as of late, but I can try this weekend to get it sorted out for you.

  12. Joe Biondi says:

    Hello FathomFans!
    Just wanted to share an experience I had recently in the hopes it will help those who still have problems with MMS.

    I had never really used/needed my MMS working as I didn’t have a phone plan that supported it but I just started a new plan that allows it so I thought I’d enable it on my Fathom.

    I followed Pizzaboy’s excellent instructions and used “Arcsoft be gone. My MMS worked IMMEDIATELY! The only problem was that the default messaging app left the message TEXT too small for me to read…for ME. Also, at least on my phone, I was unable to select an individual (already sent or received) message and view it by itself, larger. This functionality was available in the ArcSoft app. SO, I installed a newer version of ArcSoft in WVGA size hoping that it would work with MMS AND be easier to read…

    Here’s where it gets weird! MMS DID continue to work but the app still didn’t allow what I was looking for so I UNinstalled it. When I re-booted and opened messaging again – MAGICALLY – I had everything I was looking for! Individual messages could be selected and viewed AND the font size was several points larger! The messaging app “about” info shows it to be ArcSoft V.5.5.11.62! I don’t GET IT, but I LIKE IT! I’ve since rebooted several times and even romoved ArcsoftBeGone and everything still works!
    Just thought you guys would like to know about this and perhaps comment on it?

    To Pizzaboy: THANKS! for your hard work and generosity. I LOVE my Fathom and use LOTS of its great features. I’ve HEAVILY customized it and have GPS working perfectly with TomTom and/or GoogleMaps.

    THE ONE THING that I REALLY would like to see working is the FM RADIO! I have searched exstensively and it seems that in Europe (and elswhere) the FMRadio hardware is enabled but NOT on US versions. (Mine is a factory unlocked Verizon phone on T-Mobile GSM). Have you ever heard about this Pizzaboy? Can you get it working???

    THANKS!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Glad to hear you got it working. The way that I got the patch built overwrites the MMS files. In doing so, it enables the usage on non-verizon networks.
      As for your issues with small font, there are ways to fix that in the normal Windows one. Just go to settings and change your font size.
      The reason that the patch stayed on the old Messaging system from Arcsoft is because I overwrite the files with the system command, but don’t remove them upon uninstallation. This means that if you uninstall the patch, the old ones are still there and keep it enabled for GSM networks as well.

      As for the FM radio, I would need a ROM from a non-Verizon branded one to pull the proper drivers. I want a new set of radio drivers that aren’t so hellbent on going to Verizon, so that I can disable that “switch to global mode” popup.
      Let me know if you find\get your hands on\know someone who has one with working FM Radio so that I can pull the drivers and such.

  13. saeed says:

    I can’t send or receive unicode SMS

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I’ll see what could be the issue, but I think the main problem is probably related to Windows Mobile instead of my patch. See if you can find any information about Windows Mobile Unicode SMS and let me know if you still need help.
      Thanks
      -Me.

  14. saeed says:

    The problem is not from your patch, But from the Rom the reg HKCU\ControlPanel\Phone\Features is updateed evry time I restart the phone, this Value must not contains 200 to enabling unicodesms see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa920451.aspx

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Thanks for that info.
      Those settings will also be useful in testing to see how to disable CDMA on GSM only usage (T-Mobile US, AT&T US, and non-US based GSM usage as well)
      I’ll test these features out later this week on my spare Fathom with a found T-Mobile SIM and see what happens.

  15. jimmy says:

    hello pizaboy,
    pls is there any way synchronise lg fathom messages with a pc? like for nokia phones n others, u can access ur sms on pc thru suite. is there any such for lg fathom arcsoft? i need to back up my important sms on my pc.
    thanx!

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      I have not had a problem using SPB backup for Windows mobile along with SPB Desktop to open and view the backups.
      I am not sure if they still sell the Windows Mobile versions or not, if not, please let me know and I’ll see what I can do. I am not using Windows Mobile any longer, but I think I still have an installer for the software somewhere.

      if you are worried about loosing the SMS messages from Arcsoft when you uninstall it, you should still retain them when the uninstall is complete. Arcsoft saves the messages in the same storage location as Windows Mobile’s own message software.

Leave a Reply

