MidWeek Update: 5/30/2012


Apologies to everyone for being so quiet about the Fathom for so long.

My best excuse is: job hunt.
I’m still looking for work, and because of that, I’m also occupying myself with other fun stuff that involves money.

On that note, I will begin starting to sell my collection of computer equipment from the 80’s and 90’s this summer on ebay.
The biggest pieces of my collection right now are my Kingston Turbochip 5×86 clocked @ 133mhz and drops into a 486 SX or DX socket, and the modified mainboard that it has with it (from an old Packard Bell system)

If you’re interested, let me know and we can talk. Otherwise I’ll blog about when I put it up on the eBay.

 

In other news, I’ve got my budget for the summer worked out and it goes as follows:
10% to future savings
10% to church\donation to my high school
$40\month towards cell bill
5% towards my “Fun Budget” (Currently looking at an Exceed RC Short Course 1\10th scale truck)
everything else into savings for school (Tuition\living expenses)

All donations from this point out go towards the “help me buy an engagement ring since they’re expensive” fund, which my girlfriend will be happy to hear.

 

In other news: I have a few new builds of the ROM that i’m testing. None are release worthy, but if this one works well for a week, i’ll post it. I’ve flashed it to my phone, so that tells you how stable I hope it is. Still looking for modified radio drivers, but haven’t found anything.

the Android setup is also going swimmingly. I’m going to see about GenYBoot and how well that works on teh Fathom. Might end up suggesting it to people who want to play with Android on theirs.

Final thing tonight: My ZuneHD is having major issues. Freezing, hanging on songs, not rebooting properly, and having a difficult time resetting and being seen by windows. May have to set it aside and get a Zune30 to replace it.

 

That’s all so far. I’ll post when I upload a new ROM.

–me

 

About Author
Someone who feels the need to help others using the information that I have discovered. If someone else finds it useful, I'm more than happy to have helped.

5 Responses to MidWeek Update: 5/30/2012

  1. traxxion says:

    Hi. How is your Fathom ROM coming? I tried the one posted by hero121 and am quite pleased with the speed/stability, although the touchflo is missing some features. Thanks.

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      It’s still being worked on. There won’t be a fully working build of TouchFlo since this is not an HTC phone, so may things that depend on HTC hardware will be broken.
      I’m trying to get the radio set for full GSM use instead of it defaulting to Verizon when it times out. Here’s hoping that I can get it fixed soon.

  2. DAGMAN5 says:

    I was succefully installed geny.dualboot in my fathom, and it works perfectly (configuring the registry), but this isnt a great thing, because the emulated android eats a lot of battery. I preffer to use windows mobile normally, and use android if is necesary.

  3. Mark says:

    Hey _ I’m giving on my current Fathom and ordering a replacement – it boots and then whacks out on me causing me angst. If you want it you can have it I’m sure you’ll find a good use for it and no doubt you will be able to bring it back to health or enjoy using it as a development tool. let me know where to send it –

    • pizzaboy192 says:

      Sure. I’ll send you an email with my details.

Leave a Reply

