Windows 8: 1 week in; The good, The bad, and the ugly.


So it has been about a week since I installed Windows 8 Pro on my laptop, and I thought that it’d be a great idea to let you all know my full experiences with it.

First: As you all hopefully know, that emergency internet Explorer patch dropped early this weekend. This gave me a close look into how Windows 8 handles Windows update. I can say that I’m mostly impressed. After 1 Windows Update day, You’ll never make the same mistake that I made.

The ugly:
First: Windows Update no longer lets you postpone the update. That’s okay since it also gives you a warning on the lock screen about how many days until a forced restart. I didn’t realize it was a forced restart. As I said, you’ll only make this mistake once.
Before you start saying things like “you should be able to disable this” or whatnot, I tried some things. Even “Shutdown –a” doesn’t stop it. Oh well. As soon as it restarted, it re-opened all my programs that I had running (OneNote, Outlook. Firefox, a few .PDF files I had open, etc) it was pretty impressive, and with the insanely short boot times, it wasn’t a huge deal.

The bad:
In all honestly, I haven’t found anything “bad” about Windows 8 yet. I’ve been comparing it to my desktop running Windows 7, and haven’t found any inconsistencies . I honestly was expecting the start screen on my desktop when I pressed the Start button. I plan to upgrade the desktop next weekend hopefully. We’ll see how that goes.

The good:
. So far I have had a good experience with this. When I’m in school my laptop becomes my primary machine since it’s what I use every class period and spend the majority of my time on it playing games, watching movies, etc. If you’ve adapted to Windows 7, you won’t have any issues using Windows 8. The only cosmetic difference is the Start screen and the charms bar.
Shutting down: It’s no longer turning off your machine. That’s _GOOD_ for people like me who hibernated their machine as much as possible, and is even better for those people who feel their machine needs a fresh boot every time they use it. I’m not an expert on how the new shutdown sequence works, but it’s something along the lines of hibernate, but closing programs. It keeps the core Windows running, but shuts down your programs, giving you a “fresh” experience every boot. The only problem with that is when you want to change hardware, you need to force a full shutdown. I haven’t had to dig for that setting yet, but it should be simple to find.

The other:
All in all, it’s been a good change. If you’re going to be one of those people who sit and rail about the new Start screen, you’ve got issues. You were also probably a person who whined and complained every time the UI changed. When 95 came out, you probably complained about the Start menu. When XP came out, you complained about the eye candy. When Vista came out, you complained louder than everyone else because things felt different. And when 7 came out you complained about not having your text in the taskbar anymore.
If you’re anyone else who is okay with some change (maybe even cares for some much-needed change once every few years to keep the UI from feeling stagnant like the latest iOS release), then you’ll love Windows 8. As I said, I’ll be upgrading my desktop to it later this month, and we’ll see how that goes. There is no reason to not use it EXCEPT:

Why you wouldn’t want to use Windows 8:
1: Old hardware:
Microsoft pulled support from the kernel for old hardware. If I remember correctly, this is basically any of the AMD K6 series processors and older, and any socket 478 Intel processors and older. (Old Prescott P4 processors, and the first-gen Athlon system before they were Athlon 64’s.)
Why would you even want to consider running that on one of those old systems is beyond me, but you’ll probably be one of those people whining and complaining that their first-gen XP machine can’t support Windows 8, so it must be garbage. You’re probably the same person who gave Vista a bad name for trying the same thing then. And you probably were pleasantly surprised, yet still complained when you installed Windows 7 on it, and saw it behave somewhat decently.

2: If you have no need for Windows 8
Why am I advocating against upgrading here? Because you’re only gaining a bit right now. I like it, and if you’re wanting the Windows Store, then you’ll want to upgrade. If you want Metro, upgrade. If you want to use it for touch enabled stuff, upgrade. If you’re on a desktop and have no need for Windows 8, stay with Windows 7. if you’ve got two full Windows computers, upgrade just for the profile sync. Totally worth it.

3: If you’re an old fart who hates change.
Believe me, if you’re computer is beige, you’re too old to use it. If you’re listening to vinyl, you’re probably too old. If you’re using a CRT monitor, you’re too old. If you’re too old, you’re too old.

 

Well, that’s about all for right now. I’ll keep you posted on that upgrade on my desktop.

–me

About Author
Someone who feels the need to help others using the information that I have discovered. If someone else finds it useful, I'm more than happy to have helped.

Leave a Reply

